Fish and Shellfish make up the two broad categories of all fish. In the most basic terms, fish have fins, backbones and gills, while shellfish have shells of one form or another.

Also in the most basic terms, call it delicious.

fish and shellfishFish are divided into two groups, freshwater and saltwater. Because salt water provides more buoyancy than fresh water, saltwater fish, such as cod, flounder, and tuna, have thicker bones. Freshwater fish, like catfish, perch and trout, have a light skeletal framework with lots of minuscule bones.

Fish also can be classified as flatfish and roundfish. Flatfish are shaped like an oval platter, the top side being dark and the bottom light in color. Both eyes are on the dark side of the body. Flounder, halibut and true sole are all flatfish. Roundfish, such as grouper, rockfish and salmon, have a rounder body, with eyes on both sides of the head.

Further, fish are divided into three categories based on fat content – lean, moderate-fat and high-fat.

Lean – The oil in lean fish is concentrated in the liver, rather than being distributed throughout the flesh. The fat content of lean fish is less than 2.5 percent and the flesh is mild and lightly colored. Fish in the lean category include black sea bass, brook trout, cod, croaker, flounder, haddock, hake, halibut, pollock, ocean perch, red snapper, rock fish, smelts and tilefish.

Moderate-fat fish usually have less than 5 percent to 10 percent fat and include bluefish, striped bass, sturgeon, swordfish, tuna and whiting.

High-fat fish are those with more than 10 percent fat content. Some of the more popular high-fat fish are herring, butterfish, mackerel, rainbow trout, king salmon, shad and yellowtail. The more even distribution of fat in moderate and high-fat fish gives their flesh a darker color, firmer texture, and more distinctive color.

Shellfish is a broad term for all aquatic animals that have a shell of some kind, whether crustaceans or mollusks. Crustaceans have elongated bodies and jointed, soft, crustlike shells. Crustaceans include crabs, crayfish, lobster and shrimp.

Mollusks are invertebrates with soft bodies covered by a shell of one or more pieces. They’re divided into three groups.

Gastropods all have a single shell and a single muscle. Gastropods include abalone, limpet, periwinkle, snail and whelk.

Bivalves are soft-bodied mollusks that have two shells hinged together by a strong muscle. Bivalves include clams, mussels, oysters and scallops.

Cephalopods have tentacles attached to the head, and ink sacs, which serve to evade predators. The most common cephalopods are octopus, squid and cuttlefish.

Source: Cooking Smart by Sharon Tyler Herbst

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Filed under: Diabetes Diet

Like this post? Subscribe to my RSS feed and get loads more!